The Book Meme.

Image

(click to enlarge)

Another Monday Meme post from Strawberry Singh.

Meme instructions: Copy and paste the following questions and answers into your post, delete my answers and input your own. Don’t forget to leave a link to your post in the comments so we can all come and see. If you create an image for this meme, feel free to share it in the Blog Memes Flickr Group.

Best.Meme.Ever. I’ve only done about three but this one has to be my favorite so far. Yes – brush the glitter off and you will find a SERIOUS book nerd underneath.

1. Are you a bookworm? Completely. I can’t even remember a time when I didn’t have a book in my hands.

2. Which do you prefer: hardcover, paperback or electronic? Paperback most of the time. I tend to live with my books ( eat, sleep and travel with them ) and they can get roughed up. Paperbacks can be replaced easily. I’ve thought about getting a Kindle though, because the thought of dozens of books taking up the space of one paperback is extremely tempting.

3. Which book is your favorite? Such a hard question. I was tempted to name either “Queen of the Damned” or “The Vampire Armand” from Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles. I’ve had such a deep love for that series. But for a book that continues to delight me that I have read over and over I have to go with Neil Gaiman’s “Neverwhere”

4. Which children’s book is your favorite? “Stellaluna” by Janell Cannon. The story of a baby bat.

5. What’s the last book you’ve read? Right now I’m reading the plays of Oscar Wilde. Before that I think it was “City of Bones” from The Mortal Instruments series because I saw the movie and was curious how the book compared to it.

6. Name your top five favorite writers: Anne Rice, Neil Gaiman, Jim Butcher, Terry Pratchett. Having a difficult time thinking of a fifth “favorite” so I’ll just say whatever “classic” author I’m into at the moment. Currently Oscar Wilde, but has been Dickens, Poe. Shakespeare etc.

7. Name a book that had a strong impact on you: “Cloud Atlas” by David Mitchell

8. Favorite & least favorite book genres? I love anything imaginative or set in an alternate reality in fiction, although I’m not a huge fan of epic multibook fantasy sagas except for a rare few. Biographies of creative people. Historical books that explore periods of culture. Books on myth & world religions. I don’t enjoy reading crime novels or political thrillers, or stories about “ordinary people” and their problems.

9. Favorite & least favorite book-to-movie adaptions? Favorite – have to go with “Cloud Atlas” complicated book made into a complicated movie that wasn’t exactly the same but had a beauty and power of its own, and one of the saddest most haunting moments I’ve seen on film in a long while. Least favorite. – Have to agree with someone else’s post and say “Queen of the Damned” from Anne Rice’s book. Just blasphemous. Can’t believe I didn’t walk out.

10. Have you ever bought a book based on the cover alone? Not that I can remember.

11. Where do you usually buy your books? I used to haunt used bookstores, but have been converted to Amazon mostly through lack of time to get to them any more.

12. Do you go to the library? Not recently ( see above ) There was once a time when it was a monthly pilgrimage and I would come out with almost more books than I could carry every time.

13. How many books do you own? I stopped counting at 100 in my bedroom and that’s before I got to the paperbacks on the bottom shelf of the wall unit I use for a bookcase. There are two other bookcases in other rooms but those share space with DVD’s etc.

14. If you were to write a book about Second Life, which topic would you focus on? Probably Roleplayers or Alternative subcultures in SL ( vampires, nekos, merpeople, fae etc. ) I’m sort of fascinated by people who use SL as a total departure from real life and I’d love to see a book that took the subject seriously and if possible showed the positive and creative things those communities can bring to their members. Or maybe a retrospective of SL fashion XD

Leave a Reply

